PSP version ?

Apr 29, 2012 at 6:55 PM
Edited Apr 29, 2012 at 7:34 PM

Hi, I'm a programmer on the psp, I do C and C++ and a bit of assembly (MIPS).

So I'm wondering if it would be a good idea to port it on psp, for that, I need a few questions to be answered:

-Is the code of Wabbitemu portable without any change ? (I mean the code, I'll myself do the HUD/GUI)

-Will it work with about 25mb of memory ? (yes, the psp is limited)

-The psp has his speed set to 222mhz but I can switch it to 333mhz with no problem, is 333mhz enough to make the emulator work without lags ?

-If you want to, I will add a banner on the start of the emulator, it must be sized to 480*272. (It can be whatever like "Buckeye, The Great" or "Wabbitstudio, 'cause we program as fast as rabbits eat")

See you ;)

Developer
Apr 29, 2012 at 11:39 PM

Hello again,

We had a PSP programmer on our team a few years back, but he never found the time to get it ported. It should work fine, it runs on the DS, the biggest issue, I believe, was the skin. Because the PSP is landscape, a new skin was required similar to the Voyage 200. The core code is buildable on any system that supports C. I think the only issue might be the clock speed, and only really for the Silver Editions. 15 MHz requires a decent amount of horsepower to emulate, so you might see some slow down issues there. Don't worry about a banner, if you absolutely have to have one, just the text Wabbitemu with the wabbit icon would be fine.

Here's the link to the source http://buckeyedude.zapto.org/Revsoft/Wabbitemu/src.tar.gz. It includes a simple makefile that builds the core files but doesn't link them.

If you have any questions or issues, you can ask me more questions on here, or hit me up on IRC on EFNet in #ti.

BuckeyeDude

Apr 30, 2012 at 1:07 PM

By the way, its there a main file or si it only functions that allow me to emulate this ?

Developer
Apr 30, 2012 at 1:42 PM