Wabbitemu TI84 Can't get Alpha F1 to work

Dec 9, 2010 at 6:03 PM

I'm a teacher new to graphics calculators, trying to work out how to get pupils to use their Ti84s while I demonstrate on a pc linked screen with the emulator.

The options I get with the keys Alpha, then F1 (or F2...) are different on the emulator to my actual TI84 (which works in line with the actual instruction book).

I see this is a new update.  Am I being silly (wrong mode or something) or is there an issue here?

so for Alpha followed by F1, the real ti84 gives a menu tab called FRAC and options 1- 5 al about entering fractions.

The Wabbitemu gives plot1, plot2, plot3, and asks for values for Y1, Y2... Y7.

Developer
Dec 11, 2010 at 2:17 AM

Hey Mickey,

The issue you have is that the real calculator is using OS 2.53 MP (the latest TI OS) and the rom you are using for the calculator is using something lower (probably 2.43). To fix this you should be able to go grab the newest OS from TI's website and load it into Wabbitemu.

Let me know if that fixes your issue and keep me updated on how well wabbit works for you in the classroom.

Dec 16, 2010 at 6:59 PM

> keep me updated on how well wabbit works for you in the classroom.

It works very well!  I appreciate the nice sharp image, especially when projected onto a screen.  Can't wait to try it with a smartboard.

If you're looking for ideas to make it better/easier to use, here are a few:

- When demonstrating something to students on the screen, it would be nice for students to be able to see what keys were pressed to do some task.  Wabbitemu has a good visual feedback when pressing a key, but no way for a student to know what was hit if they weren't looking at that moment.  An option to show a list of recent keys pressed would be great, or perhaps even just an optional indicator like a yellow outline of the last key pressed.

- Make "Enable Skin" the default.